Celebrating filmmaking talent from around the world UKFilm in tumblr UKFilm in twitter UKFilm in facebook UKFilm in tumblr UKFilm in tumblr UKFilm in tumblr

  • Register here for our newsletter and latest updates

  • 3 Minute Script Competition

     The 2014  3 Minute Script Competition is now receiving submissions. (See below for details)

    We are excited to announce that the winner of the 2013 Three Minute Script Competition  “A Confession” (originally “The Reckoning”) by Andrea Allen is now in pre-production. It is being co-produced by us and Irresistible Films.

    We are bringing together the same production team that made our last year’s winning script “Mike” into the first British Film ever to win the Crystal Bear at the Berlin Film Festival  2014 – the 64th Berlinale. 

    Seen below receiving the Crystal Bear - Murray Woodfield (Executive Producer), Petros Silvestros (Director), Matt Nelson (Producer) and Lucian Charles Collier (Mike)

    'Mike'Berlin_2014 (2)

    The 2014  3 Minute Script Competition is now receiving submissions. (final deadline 20 December) 

    Again this year the UK Film Festival is teaming up with Irresistible Films and Creative Director Paul Maynard, who is helping to judge our 3 Minute Script Competition.

    The Prize – The winning script will receive best short script laurels and  be considered for co-production by Irresistible Films and the UK Film Festival. It is worth noting that as outlined above the 2012 winning script MIKE by AJ Riley went into production and has recently won best short film at the Berlin Film Festival.  We are excited to announce that the 2013 winning script THE RECKONING by Andrea Allen is now in pre-production. The top 3 Scripts will be read by Susie Wright for Channel 4′s Creative Diversity. The very best film or films from the festival (as happened last year) may be considered for potential inclusion in an episode of Channel 4’s Shooting Gallery. 

    Submission please send your entry by post or by email.  The postal submissions should contain a cheque made payable to the UK Film Festival for the £20 admin fee and should be sent to:

    UK Film Festival

    3 Minute Script Competition

    35 Harrington Gardens


    London SW7 4JU

    If you wish to email the script please contact murray@ukfilmfestival.com to arrange a payment method and to email the script.

    Terms and Conditions: Before submitting your screenplay, please be sure it meets the following requirements and that you accept the conditions:

    1) All entries should be in English and be between 2 and 3 pages in length (or a little over) in the industry standard format. This does not include the title page. (If you are new to film writing and do not know the format there are many free script writing programs on line including Celtx)

    2) If submitted online the file should be named as Title and Author. (e.g. Brilliant Title by Yaw Name)

    3) All scripts must be original screenplays, for which the applicant(s) hold the copyright. Where the screenplay is based on another piece of work it is the responsibility of the screenplay writer to obtain written permission/copyright clearances from the original author or publisher.

    4) The winning screenwriter may be asked to work in partnership (online if need be) with the producer, script editor and/or director with regard to possible changes if the script is selected to be produced.




    Back to Top ↑